top of page

The Tiny Road so far: the first sketch


I’ve begun sketching some design ideas in my sketchbook, trying to figure out dimensions of my build and layout. This process will likely take many revisions, and there is a lot that I don’t know yet. I’ve come up with one option today, which involves an 8.5’ x 18’ flatbed trailer base, where the door opens into a living space that would serve as living room and dining room, with my counters and kitchen area to the immediate left. Also to the left there would be storage-filled stairs leading up to a loft area which I’m still considering the dimensions for, given that I would like a full size bed in that area. Underneath the loft would fit a 3’ wide hallway on the right of the house, with a closet and small, 4’ wide toilet and shower wet room on the left. Behind here, with the remaining 4’ of length, the hall would open up into a workspace with a large built-in desk in the back left corner, against the left wall. I thought also that back right corner may be a place for storing water tanks, water heaters, batteries, or whatever I actually end up needing (which I’m not entirely sure yet). I’m continuing my research and storing notes in my file as I come across information I think will be useful or critical. Today I found some road guidelines and regulations I’ll have to stay within for the dimensions of my house, being about 13’ tall and 8.5’ wide maximum. I’m thinking that 18’ in length might be perfect. I’m also trying to generate questions about things I still don’t know to try to streamline my process.

5/17/2016 I measured and taped out the mock design I made yesterday on the back deck at my house. It really helped me get a physical idea of the dimensions I am considering for the house. I think I’m settling in on my 18’ length idea, unless that will need to change based on the towing capacity of the truck I will be able to get. I made a second revision to this potential layout in my sketches, changing a few dimensions and rethinking some of my earlier ideas. I also consulted with my mother, who is also very involved and interested in the tiny house movement, and who pays attention to a lot of designs that can be found on TV or the internet. She made some suggestions and prompted me to think more about units that I could design more uniquely and cleverly, to function as many different objects in order to maximize space and usefulness. The major revisions I’ve made from yesterday are: I realized that 3’ was too much space for the hallway, so I shortened it to 2’ and replaced the closet doors with a curtain. The sitting space for the toilet will also be 2’ wide, with the shower behind the closet indent from the hall, making it also 2’ wide. In total the bathroom is 4’ in length and 6’ wide at its deepest. The desk space behind this room I’ve considered, could also be used as a guest bedroom with potentially a custom-built fold-out bed that is against the wall, or a pre-built unit that is like a fold-out couch bed, but the size of an armchair, which my mother has seen at places like IKEA. I also realized that the edge of the bathroom wall that intrudes on the office space could be cut away to an angle, to open up the space. It’s also possible that I could reverse these two 4’ long rooms, and have the desk space a continuation of the living space, although I think that might make the guest bed more difficult to place, so that it doesn’t block the entrance to the bathroom. I’m also thinking about a 3’ deep storage loft space, opposite from the bedroom loft, directly above the door and the front of the home. That’ll also give me more floorspace.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page