top of page

(4)The Tiny Road so far: Poo machines...?

Today I completed more research about my options for toilets, and how to frame my walls. I discovered a lot about how composting toilets actually work and are constructed, and when comparing it to a conventional, low-flow RV type toilet, I think the best solution for my situation is to build a low-cost composting toilet rather than buying one. If done correctly, there should be no odor. I found that what increases the odor is if the compost pile is moist, or not warm enough. The solution seems to be to find a way to separate liquid and solid waste, mixing the solid with woodchips and/or sawdust, ventilating the box to keep the pile dry, and then perhaps diluting the liquid waste with greywater from the sink, and using it to water plants, or simply then having it be safe enough for the surrounding environment to simply pour out every so often. I think hand-building a wooden container for this system and affixing a toilet seat to the top will be the best and most cost-effective solution because ‘commercial’ composting toilets were some of the most expensive options on the market ranging $1500-$8000, but I found an example of someone who built a simplistic version for $50 or less.

10/1/2016 What I learned from the Workshop about Toilets:

The outside compost pile, that your bucket will empty into, should be built by having a sponge of dirt at the bottom, and then over time, you empty your bucket, cover with dirt and green roughage. However, this alone will not allow the pile to get hot enough to break down into dirt. You must turn the compost pile every couple of weeks! Doesn't that sound...delicious.

Well, good news, the pile will actually cook enough by sitting on its own to degrade to a point of practically scentless..."material".

Also, as was contradictory to my previous research, Andrew Morrison corrected that urine can actually help the compost pile heat up, although I'm still not entirely convinced that the smell will not increase inside the house. Perhaps adding a top to the compost pile will allow for moisture control, making the addition of urine unnecessary. I think more than anything this will take a bit of experimentation and tweaking.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page