top of page

Insulation is itchy as heck

I recently connected with some really awesome folks on Facebook that were selling R11 or R13 fiberglass insulation. I had just done that price work at Home D-pot so I was aware that regular insulation sold for something like 33cents/square foot, and I found out that the guy was looking to sell around 1000 sq.ft. which is about $330. I private messaged him and explained my project, and my need to get really discounted materials, as I do with all the people I negotiate with, and he graciously agreed to sell the 1000 sq.ft. for $100. I of course said yes please that would be so friggin awesome. So, we agreed on a time and place to pick it up. In passing, he asked if I had a big truck or something to pick it up in, and I said yes, I have a big ol' van, which my parents gave me the title to for my 18th birthday. I have driven this thing maybe 5 times, since I had learned to drive stick shift. However, I am actually quite good at it so there wasn't much of an issue with driving it out past Lynden to the location. I pulled in and looked around, knowing that the seller would be meeting me and leading my van back to the loading point. He drove up after a few minutes and exclaimed "that's not a big van!" taken off guard, I somewhat pathetically replied "oh, really?"

I turned and mounted my apparently inferior van, which still had that massive and approximately 1million pound table saw in the back. I slowly began to realize that I had no idea what 1000sq.ft of insulation actually looked like, or how much volume is needed for such a stack. Regardless, the man and his supposed wife were super nice and very supportive and helpful. We talked a little bit about my project and I thanked them again for their generous price and help. He pointed out again that the insulation was in very good condition, even though it was used, because it had been in the walls of an interior lobby, from a building that they were taking out. The man showed me the stacks of insulation, which were laid out flat in 24in wide strips, covered in brown paper on the top and back of the strips. We began to (bare handed) grab up strips and situate them in the van. After we shoved about half of it into the van, it was really beginning to dawn on me that I may not have enough room. We rolled and stuffed and filled every square inch of that dang vehicle possible, and I exchanged the $100.

As you can see, we stuffed Big Blue to the max.

So I drove all the way back home, and on the way, I began to notice that my skin was kind-of ichy so I was like OH, I should probably cover up some more if I handle this more. Fast forward one trip to the store for gigantic garbage bags and like 2 hours of stuffing puffy definitely-not-cotton-candy into body bags later and there we have it!

Notice my sick skin, respiratory, and eye protection! About 15 bags were then hauled into my house, and approximately half were shoved into the attic storage space, the rest remain pushed in a corner of our great room with my cabinetry and gas stove.

This all just goes to show, if you are patient and diligent in looking for good deals, the universe will provide! This insulation is a huge part of the project that I was able to get for a great deal. Never give up, and trust that people will help you out if you explain your circumstances.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page