top of page

(5)The Tiny Road so far: the project picks up steam

I hit my first $2500 recently, and am nearly to $3000 now in my savings for the home, and I have officially begun my scavenging process for materials, furniture, and appliances. So far, the first thing I bought was a table that is small, but big enough to use as a desk while folded down on the sides, and large enough for a round dinner table when folded up. Today I’m going to pick up some tile that I will likely use in the kitchen space that I’ve bought from a buy/sell group on Facebook in Whatcom county. I have put out a few “in search of” advertisement posts for free barnwood for aesthetic, or any treated lumber for framing, although I will likely have to drop a larger lump of money on that, as there is little room for age or wear on such a critical component of this build. Whatever I find, now I have palet material to build a storage area for it! I could not be more excited! I’ve been working very hard between my two jobs, and saving as much as possible. I’d like to say a goal of about $5,500 or $6,000 before December, when I leave for my 3 month adventure in Europe. This is of course not to say that I won’t be able to still make more money after I return home to really start the build, though I won’t be able to work as much as I am now while doing the build, there’s simply not enough time.

10/12/2016 UPDATE

It is now well into October, and I have passed $4000 and am rapidly approaching $5000! We bought the plane tickets for Belgium not too long ago, and the official departure date is November 26th!

A big part of this adventure will be finding out how I can conserve as much money as possible while travelling, feeding myself, and finding places to sleep along the way. Got any ideas?


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page