top of page

Update time!

Hello! Welcome Back to Tiny Foundation!

This is the first post I've written in a little while, so I figured I owed you an update on what's been happening. I am currently in Floreffe, Belgium on a little personal exchange. Learning lots of French. I brought my laptop with me, of course, and have been working as much as I can on planning for the build, which I hope will commence when I return home (to a new house no less) in March. My search for a flatbed trailer has been wildly unsuccessful, to my dismay. I'm really starting to think that I might need to borrow money from somewhere to pull this thing off. I really just need enough all at once right now for the trailer and the materials to dry-in the house. Once we get there, we can take a little rest and work up some more dough for the finishes.

I'll let you take a look at where we're sitting right now. I've gotten a lot of generous donations, which have helped immensely. Special thanks to Mona Haines for providing lightly used brown board for sheathing material!

Anyway, as you can see in my budget spread, currently I have spent $640.61, which, when you add to the amount I have saved currently, $4,760.94, becomes $5,401.55, which is just about $300 over my "estimated total" for the project, and that's cutting a lot of cost corners. HOWEVER, that estimation includes the trailer at $2,500. That, with the excess $300, assuming I don't spend anything more while I'm in Europe (not likely), leaves us topped out at around $2,800... I've still got my fingers crossed that I'll find something perfect.

If any of you lovely people out there have any information or leads that may be helpful, PLEASE don't hesitate to reach out to me by leaving a comment, or by private emailing me at waldecam98@gmail.com

Alright, now onto the fun stuff!

I've started writing essentially what is a "don't f*ck it up list" where I am pouring over every little detail of the process to figure out exactly what needs to happen when. This involved completing a bunch of 3D models (and still more are needed):

It's pretty exciting but also honestly anxiety-inducing seeing the project this far along. I absolutely LOVE 3D modeling the house, I've

become a complete nerd for it. I can see my ideas come to life in virtual space, and it's so much easier for me to be able to measure what I've built and be sure that when I cut that piece in real life, it will fit where I want it to (assuming there is no human error..)

It kind-of makes my eyes spin to look at it now, but this is what I've put together for the Don't F*ck it Up Manual, A documentation of all cuts and steps to building my house...

And of course I definitely don't have a perpetually exploding sketchbook like a mad scientist...

Thanks for Reading!

Leave me a comment letting me know what you'd like me to talk more about. Until next time!


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page